United Nations Economic Commission for Africa

Organization Description

The Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) was established in 1958 by the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) of the United Nations (UN) as one of the UN's five regional commissions. ECA's mandate is to promote the economic and social development of its member states, foster intra-regional integration, and promote international cooperation for Africa's development.

Project Introduction

In its 50 years of existence, UNECA has created and holds a vast quantity of information and knowledge in a variety of formats, including printed and electronic. These represent the corporate memory, providing historical evidence of its actions and decisions. The Institutional Repository of the Economic Commission for Africa offers unique knowledge and information not available elsewhere pertaining to regional programmes, decisions and resolutions promoting social and economic development in Africa. @mire's iterative approach to imports from MARC21 metadata allowed the DSpace based repository to gain a critical mass of over 15000 items in a short period of time.


  • AGRIS controlled vocabularies with specialized OAI-PMH support
  • Automatic email reminders for tasks
  • Administrator search in pending workflow items
  • Batch import of MARC21 records
  • Custom theme